Powerful stuff x thank you stilllearning2b

Lessons From the End of a Marriage

“Why wasn’t I enough for him?”

I posed this question to my journal soon after discovering that my then-husband had obtained a new wife.

“What does she have that I don’t?”

I asked of the page, not expecting an answer.

“How could he do this to someone he loved?”

The words perforated the page like his actions pierced my heart.

“He threw me away like so much garbage!”

My tears fell on the page, causing the words to bleed down the paper.

I felt worthless, discarded. I wore this self-image like a corset, hidden from public view yet restricting my movements nonetheless.

I rationalized that if I had been a good enough wife, he would not have secured another. I believed that if I had only been a better partner, he would not have left. Even while publicly blaming him, I secretly blamed myself. Convinced that I was not enough.

My…

View original post 447 more words

Leave a Reply

